Augtember

Forgot to post last month apparently.  It was a busy one though.  I’ve been keeping my nose to the grindstone: writing, coaching, working.

The book business has been great.  A solid number of people are trying out the book, and I’ve gotten great feedback so far.  I think we sold around 30 books in the first month, and about 15 in the second.  Launch months are always bigger, but I’m hoping that the number keeps climbing from the August number.  I guess we’ll see.  The plan is to simply keep writing.  The best promotion for an author is word of mouth from fans, and to simply keep writing.

My day job sucks the life out of me.  Every day I find new and more inventive examples of incompetence.  It’s abhorrent to know how little you’re making in comparison to someone who can’t figure out how to double click a file.  I’m sure they have other awesome, valuable skills… but they are hindered from using them by not being able to use modern technology.

I want so bad to leave, and chase the writing dream full time.  Unfortunately, reality doesn’t agree with that goal.  There’s still a mortgage to pay.  There are still bills.  Still, this is not a get-rich-quick scheme.  It’s a plotted career change.  These things take time, and I’m fortunate that I can attempt it in relative security. 

The football team has gotten off to an inauspicious start.  It’s been difficult working under a new head coach, teaming up with new coaches.  We’re all working hard, but we have a lot of room for improvement.  We sit at 1-4, but have been in all of those games except for one.  Our schedule is front-loaded with tough teams, and we’re still working the kinks out of a brand new system.  Not exactly the best of conditions.

Hopefully, we will shape up as the year goes on.  We have one more really tough match-up this Friday, and then several teams that, while not horrible, aren’t leaders in the state like the last bunch.  Here’s hoping we get some wins.  Certainly would loosen everyone up, me included.

Standard

Leave a Reply

