Consider This My Christmas Card

Not really. My wife will be sending real ones. They just may be more like New Years cards this year because we’ve been so busy. Adulting is hard.

I skipped last month, Dear Journal, in part due to the aforementioned busy-ness, but also because I didn’t want to jinx myself. You see, this November may have been the absolute best sporting month ever for me in my 31 year history of sporting months. (Yes, I came out of the womb playing sports. Blame my father.)

First, to start off the month in style, the Cubs broke their 108 year hiatus and won a World Series. I’ll be honest, I was an emotional wreck for a while in there. For a few days afterward, I couldn’t watch recaps without tearing up, which was a huge problem because, you know, world keeps on spinning. I still had to work, and I still had to coach.

Which brings me to awesome thing number the second. My football team, the Westfield Shamrocks, proceeded to win the the 5A state championship for the first time in school history. 1935 is the first  year I can find record of Westfield having a football team (high school records aren’t real great if you go back too far), so let’s just do some friendly rounding and say that, this November, nearly 200 years of non-championships was purged from my sports world. That’s pretty awesome, and to have really been a part of making the second one happen is even sweeter.

(Side note: I think how abysmal my Boilers have been in football is helping to balance my karmic scales a tad… but even with that – and they were REALLY bad this year – I still think I’m way ahead!)

Anyway, Christmas apparently came early for me. It was a great November and, except for the biting chill in the air today, December has been pretty decent. I’m just trying to catch up on everything that sat on the back burner while SPORTS were happening. Hopefully your fall was also awesome, Dear Journal, and may your Christmas be joyful. Safe travels if you’re planning to, I don’t know, mail yourself somewhere. And if I don’t get back to you before the end of the month, have a Happy New Year.

Standard

Leave a Reply

